Loading Events

« All Events

Etsy Craft Entrepreneurship Online

April 13 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Free

The IDRS Acorn Project is hosting a free live online workshop for artists and craftsmen who are interested in learning how to sell their goods through Etsy.  Etsy is the leading global marketplace for selling handmade and vintage goods to more than 40 million customers. IDRS has created the Etsy Craft Entrepreneurship Workshop for Native artists/crafters that are looking to expand their customer base beyond the boundaries of their own community and sell to consumers world-wide.

The course is taught by award-winning Cherokee artist, MaryBeth Timothy.  MaryBeth and her husband operate MoonHawk Art LLC, an art business located in Muskogee Oklahoma which specializes in Native American and wildlife art.

MaryBeth creates new original art and through sublimation printing, offers her and her husband’s images on a variety of items, such as ceramic decorative tiles, coffee mugs,  cuff bracelets and t-shirts.  While MaryBeth primarily sells through venues such as gift shops and art markets, she has been able to expand and reach a worldwide market through her Esty store.

The Etsy class will take place over four 2-hour sessions.  The first session will be on Monday,  April 12th at 5:00 pm Pacific / 6:00 pm Mountain / 7:00 pm Central / 8:00 pm Eastern.  The second through fourth sessions will be at same time on Tuesday, April 13th; Wednesday, April 14th; and Thursday, April 15th.  The workshop is free and open all entrepreneurs.

This workshop will be delivered online utilizing the Zoom platform. The workshop can be taken on computers and smartphones.

Course Agenda

Day 1
Introductions
Break
Course overview
Why sell on Etsy?

Day 2
Recap of session 1
Homework discussion
How to stand out on Etsy
What you need to do before opening your Etsy store
Break
Taking great product photos

Day 3
Recap of session 2
Homework discussion
How to list your items on Etsy
Break
Etsy search engine optimization
Indian Arts & Crafts Act
Pricing & fees
Etsy payment
Developing your store policies

Day 4
Recap of session 3
Homework discussion
Creating your store profile
Sales strategies
Break
Communicating with customers
Shipping products
Collecting sales tax
Promoting your store on Social media
How to set up coupons and special offers
Where to get help.

This workshop is being funded in part by the USDA Rural Development, the Small Business Administration, and the California Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development.

Details

Date:
April 13
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.nativebiz.org/event/etsy-april-2021/2021-04-13/

Venue

ONLINE

Organizer

IDRS Acorn Project
Phone:
9164825800
Website:
nativebiz.org
//]]>